This site exploits session and third parties cookies. Pressing on 'Accept' button, you accept cookie usage. For further information click Cookie Policy button

  • Banner

Planck mission awarded with the 2018 Gruber Cosmology Prize

May, 2018. The Planck team, and its Principal Investigators Nazzareno Mandolesi and Jean-Loup Puget, are the recipients of the 2018 Gruber Cosmology Prize ( From 2009 to 2013 the European Space Agency’s Planck Surveyor Satellite has been measuring with unprecedented resolution and accuracy the anisotropies of the cosmic microwave background. The collected data that have provided cosmology with the definitive description of the universe on the largest and smallest scales. Since 1999, a group from our lab, led by Emanuele Salerno, has been associated with the Planck mission, devising mathematical methods to disentangle the different astrophysical sources interfering with the cosmic background. The Prize will be awarded on August 20, at the General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union, in Vienna, Austria. The $500,000 annual prize will be divided among the two principal investigators ($250,000) and the team.